três corujas

For meu aniversario, I wanted to go for a bike ride.  People had been recommending Parque Ecologico de Pampulha, and Lucy mentioned one could rent bicycles there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On my way, I saw a lovely rua with a man and his horse cart.  We walked down the hill together, and he pointed me toward the park as we parted.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do not feed the capybaras !!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Does anyone know the name of this passaro?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Felt so good to be on a bike again, and exploring various trails (and getting reminded I was out of biker bounds) was part of the fun. Every trinta minutos, I had to return to the rental spot, but they let me renew the use a couple times, and it was all for free!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Panoramic of Parque Ecologico de Pampulha.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the way o ceu looks in this photograph.  It was a perfect day.  Then, just as I was reading myself to leave, nature granted me a TREASURE of a gift.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I noticed the grey and black passaro first, and looked down to see a coruja!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then, there was another coruja in the neighboring tree!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next, I noticed something moving out of the bush to my right.  To my surprise, it was as três corujas !!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The owl looks so serene, so ephemeral here, eyes closed, confident in the breeze, blowing its downy, yellow underbelly so delicately!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I settled down for a picnic and admired the three as they hung out in the tree, guarding a nearby nest.  It was a great opportunidade for practicing using my new camera as well.  Their mannerisms were so charming!  Observing animals in the wild, while they are taking care of themselves (as best as they can in an urban environment, thank goodness for ecological parks!), inspires me in a multitude of ways.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tres Corujas numa arvore !!  Boa sorte!!  Hopefully these photos of owls inspire you to get out into nature, help a park, or connect to your spirit in some special way as well.  Obrigada for spending time with them as I did.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3 responses

Leave a Reply

